Test Run

After getting my dash lights all working & setting the toe-in for the third time (think it’s finally right this time, will measure it again tomorrow), and setting the top bows a bit further back so they don’t interfere with the seats, and reinstalling the radio, I drove my wife to Rita’s, the gelato place.

A dude in line ahead of me made Bridget immediately as a kit car. Didn’t talk to me at all, but looked under her front bumper and saw the tell-tale torsion beam. OK. Then an older gent walked up and said he loved the car and had just taken delivery of a 1929 DeSoto, “with a rumble seat.” I encouraged him to make the local cruise if he can. “You’ll have the only one there.”

“I know,” he said. “It’s the only one in the country. I checked when I went to register it.”

So after we hit the road I asked Karen to give me a start on the Dynolicious. I hustled Bridget through the gears, shifting at about 4200. When she said 40 miles an hour the speedo said 50, or near it. At 50 she read near 60. Very TD-like, I think–also very VW Beetle-like. I let off about then; she made it to 60 in 22.92 seconds, according to the iPhone app, covering the quarter mile in 24.22 at just under 62 mph.

The machine calculated peak horsepower at 46, which sounds about right to me for a single port VW of indeterminate displacement. Assuming an 18 percent drivetrain loss that converts to 54.28 HP at the flywheel, which was also the rated horsepower of the TC and TD’s XPAG engine.

46 horsepower! Woo-Hooo! But look--only at that little peak in 3rd gear. . .
Looking at this chart, seems I was short-shifting her something awful. We’ll try holding out to 5k on the next run, though I don’t see this little mill making much power above that.

I’m guessing a solo run for real should shave 3-4 seconds off the 0-60 time. Mid 19s would seem to be the best this old girl could do without a major overhaul. We’ll see though.

I’ll try the skidpad app too and see if I can get some 60-0 times and distances.

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

