Soob Swap III–The Prep

My wife and I were very fortunate that the previous owner of the house was extremely handy, and had so many tools he could not take them all when he left. One bit of good news: he left us an engine hoist.

The bad news? It was disassembled and above the garage ceiling.

hoist1

This was actually harder than it looked. The small pieces–leg and arm extensions, the top arm itself, etc., were actually light enough for me to wrestle them down by myself. But the base . . . .

The base, I needed another crane to get it down.

Ironic, yes?

Fortunately I had handy a comalong from my adventures in hoisting a new outboard onto my late, lamented boat (long, sad story, told here.) A little surgery to devise a hanger from the rafter under the roof’s peak, a little sweat (OK, a whole fucking LOT of sweat. This went down in August, outside temps in the high 80s, garage attic temps in the low, oh, I guess, 110s) et voila!

hoist2hoist5

OK. So that’s not good.

With the comalong fully extended the 100+-pound hoist base was still four feet shy of the garage floor. Did I mention it weighs like 100 pounds? And that it’s like 120 degrees up where the comalong handle is?

This was my life on that day. But I managed to get ‘er done: Reeled it back up, disconnected, put a longer chain above the comalong.

Backed the truck in under the hatch, piled a few old pallets in the bed. hoist7Before long I had a nice, greasy pile of steel on the garage floor and . . .

hoist10

not long after that I had me a engine crane, yeeehaaw.

hoist11-readyShockingly: the hydraulic jack actually worked!

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Improvements and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

