New Transaxle

Jimmy was true to his word. He put my new tranny together and wanted payment, so I drove up Saturday afternoon and got it from him.

Jimmy with new trans

I owed him $640–quite a bit more than I’d hoped or expected. Turns out the late model box the trike guy traded me for mine needed a reverse idler bearing and 1-2 slipper, plus the synchro they always need. The extra hardware summed to about $150. Add the new throwout bearing and I was $180 over budget. Plus tax.

Total in: $1070. Still not bad for a professionally-built pro-street box with special ring and pinion.

It’s a few pounds heavier than the one it replaces. Still, easy two-hand carry.

new trans loaded up

We talked about how I could get the drive train forward an inch, if it comes to that. He’s got a “blade” style rear mount that reverses to do the job. Price was marked at $23. In the front I’d still be cutting and welding. Jimmy says he routinely cuts the front mount bungs off transaxles and bolts on a second cradle to the front carrier, then welds that to the frame horns. I’m still keen to rubber-mount all this stuff to save noise and vibration, I said (the car is not going to be spending a lot of time on the drag strip). Jimmy said he could make it work, and I believe it.

Now if the guys from Bully Clutch will just call back so I can give them some money, I’ll be ready to roll. Asking for a new clutch disk for Christmas.

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Improvements and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

