Working

What I do on the weekends: put the engine in, take the engine out. Put the engine in. Take the engine out.

Getting the thing to fit right takes a lot of this. I’m now pretty close–and pretty good at getting the engine in and out. I was able to flip the transaxle mount and, by elongating the holes, get the back of the trans just about in the right place.

trans mount holes mod1trans mount holes mod3

trans mount reversed1

transmount reversed3

engine in 3-mount reversed depth

That means I’m using the VW mounts and not the Subaru ones. Many others have used them with no ill effect.

And that means…success!

Now I just have to modify the front mount and weld it (or, more likely, get it welded) back in place.

But first I have to grind the torsion housing smooth. The old welds are pretty hard.

It is, indeed, a grind.

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Improvements and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Working

  1. Pingback: Test fit engine: success and trouble | bridgetmgtd

Leave a Reply

