New front transmission mount: One idea down, one to go

I spent a couple hours radiussing the front transmission mount and grinding off the old welds, trying to find the 7/8 of an inch I need to locate the transmission where it needs to be in a basically stock way.

nice radius2

Unfortunately, upon mocking the assembly up. I discovered that I still had more than half an inch to go.

gap to front mount-smallThat’s more than the material remaining on that mount. Not that the deed cannot be done. It would just take the hammer, the heat, and a lot more finagling.

So I have another idea.

new trans front mount idea1

Based on this nifty mid-mount, my version will be a tad narrower and attach on either side with a swaybar bushing or two. This is the new theory, anyway.

new front mt idea2

new front mt transfernew front mt cut linesnew front mt fit1To get there I must finish the mount, then fab up a “tab” on either side. Since I already plan to slide a 1 x 1-inch steel box tube into the existing subframe, and then extend that frame forward six feet or more using 1.5 x 3/4-inch C-channel, I’ll add those tabs to that job.

Ordering the metal right about now.

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Improvements and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

