New oil separator plate . . . and scut work

So this is what $42 worth of Subaru dealer parts looks like. 

oile separator oil sep bolts-indiv wrapd

My favorite thing is the bolts–each one in its own plastic wrapper. I asked the guy at the parts counter what gives. “Maybe they don’t want to make you buy all six,” he said.

Like everyone’s taking their engine out to replace just one of these little screws.

To recap the story so far: this is the 84,000-mile 2.2 liter Subaru engine I pulled from my 1995 Legacy. The original plastic separator plates on these tended to leak–just like this: 

old separator

And so the factory came back with a presed steel number and the six pan-head bolts, one of which is pre-coated with Locktite or something similar.

There is no gasket. We’re using Permatex Ultra Grey, like we used for the oil pan.

sep new gasket

And done.

new sep on1

After getting this squared away I turned my attention to the donor car, jacking it up to cut off the exhaust.

soob exhaust-almost wld wkI was thinking I might be able to use some of this on Bridget. It’s the right shape, but about six inches too long to the Y joint, and also looks like it’d hang about two inches lower than I’d like.

My friend Mike, who runs the local National Budget Muffler franchise, has offered to do this up. I’m going to have him do the cooling lines too, as he seems game. “I’ve seen that car,” he said when I walked in last week. “I like projects like that.”

Mike’s already done me several solids in the few years I’ve been here–from welding up my truck’s exhaust (he totally could’ve sold me a cat-back and I would not have known I was getting hosed) to swaging a section of pipe for an ill-fated effort at making a potter’s wheel. I think he did that job gratis on Thanksgiving eve.

So, Mike’s the man.

After cutting out the pipe I went after the driver’s fender, pulling it off to get access to the Subaru’s wire harness. Oh my god, the wires.

And next is the dashboard and the rest.

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Improvements and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

