Home stretch on the motor mounts

This front transmission mount is giving me new respect for fabricators. What looked like a simple bar with a bit of angle iron on it has turned into quite a project–especially for a guy who doesn’t know how to weld.

front mount mount3 front mount mount2It was actually pretty easy to get it close to the right spot with a bit of angle iron doubled over the bar and welded, so my 1 x 1 fits snugly into the existing subframe. I had planned to tack it along the bottom of the frame horn but that proved impossible because of the thickness of said subframe–plus the angle iron welded to the top of the one-by to serve as the bracket. There was about a quarter inch gap between the pieces.

So I had to make new stand-offs to match it up–harder than I thought.

Started by drilling through the bracket and putting a self-tapping sheet metal screw through the bottom of the frame horn on each side–the idea being to snug it up as well as possible to measure the gaps. That took a while working under the car.

Next, welding in the standoffs, cleaning up the frame for new welds, and bending new angle to make “ears” to weld to the frame horns opposite my trans brackets.

front mount mount10All this took about five hours. The welding, test-fitting, then opening holes because stuff no longer fit got a bit frustrating. Finally I got it though.

front mount mount9Above is the final “ear” weld ready to mate with Bridget’s frame horn. After this, it had been my plan to get my wife to sit next to the car and work the switch on the welder while I tacked it together.

front mount mount1 front mount mount12Thought better of it though. Right now, the car is jacked up by the ends of the frame horns, and there is no engine to counter-balance the transmission.

I think with the car on the ground and the engine installed, the proper loads and stresses on the frame horns will be there, and then the bracket should be welded to the horns.

Of course, to make that happen I need either very tall ramps or a pit under my garage.

For now the sheet metal screws should hold everything in place. I’ll take the whole thing to Mike at the muffler shop and let him do the final honors.

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Improvements and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

