Rust, continued

I made some new frame pieces to go with the underside of the frame head today, then assembled the thing with bolts and screws ahead of its tow to National Budget. I also seem to have lost my new master cylinder, which is strange and irritating.

Here’s what we had when I started: IMG_5468Fortunately, I have this leftover 1×1 square tube from the motor/trans mount job. It fits in that space with just a little room to spare. IMG_5469

IMG_5472

IMG_5475Relieved to fit where the “hat” is still there, marked for the existing through bolt.IMG_5477Now it will stay put. So I install the pan piece to see how everything fits, and pull it all together with some bolts, screws and threaded rod.IMG_5483Then it comes off and I get some angle iron…or I would have, if I had any. This stuff will have to do.IMG_5484

IMG_5485Another piece for the weak side here. I was going to try to get it to tuck inside, but that looks like a lot more work, and this outside location seems to have clean metal to weld to and the room to do it. IMG_5486

IMG_5487There is a space inside the tunnel where the angled reinforcement joins the main tunnel that will need a piece of flat plate welded to it. I cleaned it up and will assume Mike has a little flat stock there. or I’ll bring him some heavy gauge plate.

I buttoned up the piece again. Gaps in the front where I stupidly ground away the old welds. I hope he’s got some filler rod.

IMG_5491 IMG_5490In the middle of all this I thought I’d remove the master cylinder to give the welders an easier time of it. I went to find the Brazilian-made MC I bought back in 2011, figuring that’ll go in when Bridget comes back, and I’ll just roll into the disk brake job.

But darned if I could find the master cylinder. Found two sets of brake shoes, hardware kit for the brake drums, two new rear wheel cylinders I’ve not yet got around to installing–even a full new kit of hard lines! And of course the new disk kit–which does not come with a new MC.

I wonder where it could be.

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Fixes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

