Lime Rock Vintage Festival

Since I got Bridget in the fall of 2009 it has been my ambition to get her on the race track–preferably one of the historic courses on which she cut her teeth under grandpa’s hands 60 years ago. And so this week, I did.

Screen shot 2015-09-09 at 9.08.12 PM

Unfortunately, my videographer did this. The whole two laps at look like this, save for the 30 seconds or so he had his finger over the lens. No idea how he managed to do it. But then again: everything about Bridget is a squint-and-you-can-imagine sort of endeavor. So my blurry screen shot heading under the bridge at Lime Rock at 25 mph is just about right.

It was a gorgeous Saturday after an easy ride up from Baltimore on Friday. I flat-towed Bridget with the formerly-totaled Nissan Frontier and had no traffic issues until after the George Washington Bridge. Crawling through Stamford, needing to pee, I decided to stop by Benson & Post Automotive, in Fairfield, the former Urban Arco gas station where I worked from 1981 through (off and on) about 1987. I didn’t know if my old boss Sam would be there–or even if it was still his place. All I knew is that I had to take a leak, and Sam’s place was about the only bathroom I could maybe depend on before mom’s house in Milford, 20 miles up the road at a snail’s pace on Friday afternoon.

I also figured Sam would like Bridget. Circa 1983 a customer brought an MG TD in for some work. I don’t remember what we were supposed to be doing to that car. What I remember is that it smelled like decaying varnish, and that one day Sam climbed in it, fired her up and took me for a ride.

(Astonishing fact: Bridget is today four years older–as a kit build, never mind the chassis–than that ancient TD was on the day I got that ride.)

I pulled the truck-sportscar rig up on the sidewalk along the pumps and walked through the office into the garage, where I found a man in his 40s who I didn’t recognize. I introduced myself and asked if Sam was by chance there.

“He’s here,” the mechanic said. “He’s in the bathroom.”

Oh that figures.

Turned out the guy was Sam’s step son, Bryan. I had met him—when he was 12.

We hung out a minute, inspecting a chrome-bumper MGB in the corner of the lot, and Sam came out.

IMG_6230

As a long-time mechanic he of course had to work the throttle with his hands. We shot the shit for a few minutes, I used the toilet and offered to unhook the car and take Sam for a ride. He declined, unfortunately, saying he’s not sure he can get in and out of the car.

IMG_6231

So I soldiered on to mom’s house, got a good meal and awoke at 6 the next morning for the 68-mile run to Lime Rock. I was on the road at 7, wishing I’d brought the leather jacket and Snoopy hat. It was chilly.

Once at the gate I breezed in with my car corral pass and pulled in next to an early MGB, right-hand drive.IMG_6232

The Lotus came next. Not long later an E-Type Jag, for sale. And an old Jag saloon. Meanwhile, the Porsches were swarming all around.

I loved that I had the only T-type MG in the corral. One guy came up and told me what a great dash I have. He said he had a ’53 and never noticed Bridget’s replicant nature. Every time I approached her all day there were people crowded around, taking her picture–almost as many as were taking in Danny P’s 550.IMG_6237

The most interesting group I saw was just inside the gate: an Arnolt Bristol club. These cars–Italian coachwork over British mechanicals–are like nothing made before or since. And not many were made. I’d previously seen only one in person, a few years ago at the Great Race (3:17 in the video here).

IMG_6234

The Speedster guys came in force–Lenny and Danny in their Spyders, Gordon, Carl, Joel and Al, mostly with Speedsters, plus some guys I didn’t know: Frank and Rick. Joel had a lot of questions about Bridget’s Soob job. I tried to be encouraging. There really isn’t all that much too it, other than patience, sweat and frustration.

The racing went on all day. You could look up at any time when the track was noisy and see something like this. IMG_6238Or this. IMG_6239

Or this:IMG_6275

I saw one Mustang walk off the track on this turn but heard of no real incidents on Saturday. The Formula Fords seemed to be running at each other pretty hard but most of the rest of the field seemed to be rolling in a gentlemanly way. Which is understandable when you’re rolling something like this:IMG_6249

I did not know exactly what I was looking at when I first saw it, but I knew it was special, particularly when I got a peek under the hood: IMG_6264

More serious enthusiasts than I am already recognized the 250 Testa Rossa, circa 1957, with its unmistakable cut-away fenders. That’s about $30-$40 million right there, so I don’t begrudge its owner one iota of care.

The car ran at least twice on Saturday. I think the D-type Jag finished ahead of it.

IMG_6309 IMG_6255 IMG_6257

Didn’t get to talk to too many drivers, but here is one whose story I’d like to hear:IMG_6256

And what else is running? Oh…a couple-odd Porsches…IMG_6250 IMG_6252This is a 904. Note the four-cam flat-four. That is royalty.
IMG_6306And this? This is a Porsche 718 WRS: Two liters, about 240 horsepower from an air-cooled flat-eight.

Here’s what happened when the Speedster/Spyder guys first spotted that 904:IMG_6253When the WRS was lined up to start they were all at the chain link fence, right behind it, drooling.

But the exotics weren’t even the half of it. Basically everywhere you looked was something cool. Dig this crazy starting procedure on the 1935 Bentley:IMG_6259Is 1-4-6-2-5-3 the firing order?

This TC was just brilliant. I didn’t ask the price.IMG_6235

And a few feet away, this TD looked more or less affordable, though it was not for sale.IMG_6283Good place for slogans. 6301-c IMG_6297 IMG_6313

And—I assume—this thing is meant to attract kids, since it did all day long.IMG_6246

Just walking along you didn’t know what you’d run into. A replica 1937 Talbot Lago—badged Talbo—that absolutely fooled me.

IMG_6315 IMG_6316

Well, I did not interrupt these fine folks to tell them Bridget was an updated recreation.IMG_6245

 

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Shows and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

