Fender-stretching, continued

After several weeks’ hiatus I got back into Project Fender-Stretch on Bridget today, moving to the light body filler phase of the fenders and hood and other bits. To re-cap, I began with glass cloth and glass mat, moved on to Upol Fibral, a short-strand fiberglass filler that actually adds strength, and now I’m filling in the low spots with Upol’s Gripped polyester body filler, which is a variant of good ol’ Bondo. I’m using the UPol product because I’ve heard it’s a good idea to keep it all in the family, if possible.

img_8087

So far, so good. The filler goes on smooth and sands very nicely. My only complaint is I seem to me getting more than the usual amount of voids and pinholes. It’s probably down to my inexpert mixing and application skills, though.

I spent a couple hours and got a couple layers on the driver’s front, which has been the Problem Child. I figure we’ll need one, maybe two more to be finished with them all.

img_8089

The scuttle’s looking fine, and so are the few stress cracks on the hood, which I’d got to “while I’m at it.” The technique: first grind out the crack with a blade so it’s wider and v-shaped. Then grind away the paint and gelcoat around the crack, then hit it with the Fibral. I did all that last time I came out here, a few weeks ago.

img_8093

Clean everything. Apply the filler. Wait 20 minutes. Cheese-grate or go directly to 80 grit, which is what I did here on top, since it was flat. Then the second application. As with the fenders, there’ll be a skim coat here too, to fill these nettlesome little voids, before moving to the 150-220-300 grit.

img_8090

After sanding the right front I marked the low spots. Then…img_8092

It’s getting close now. The driver’s front was much easier.img_8095

That’s basically one pass. The skim coat should do it there. Then we’re on to primer.

Except, no. I still have some underbelly glassing to get to, and a whole brace of little body bits that need attention. While I’m at it.

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Fixes, Improvements, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

