Painting

So I wet-block sanded with 400 about half a dozen times over the past week, then found more pinholes and such and puttied them, then repeat and etc.

Finally today I just said “screw it,” and shot the “sealer” coat.

IMG_8274.JPGIMG_8275.JPG

This is all Duplicolor rattle cans because I am unaccountably afraid of my old-school Devilbiss sprayers and the 2k primer-sealer I bought a couple months ago with this job in mind.

I washed the car and dried it, then waited a while and then tack-ragged it. As you can see, I totally skimped on the tape job, because I’m an idiot who believes compounding out overspray is faster and easier than masking, mainly because it’s a thing we do tomorrow instead of today. I’m like that.

IMG_8276.JPG

Hood and scuttle. I shot the whole hood but most of it is already painted. Hoping I pulled all the wax out of it with the acetone and sand-blocking routine.

IMG_8277.JPG

And here it is wet. Two coats in. Gonna wet sand with 600, then peel the tape off and shoot over a couple more coats before clear. Hoping it covers.

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Painting

  1. Looking pretty good. You might get a breather before Carlisle. 🚗 💨💨

Leave a Reply

