Shift rod continued

Ran some errands, bought some stuff. One such thing was a 3/4 brass connector from the plumbing supply bin. I wanted a longer “backing tube” to fit inside my burned-up shifter rod (burned by me yesterday thinking I could stick weld it).

I tried 3/4-inch copper pipe but it’s a hair too small to fit snug inside the VW piece. This looked just a hair too big. But: thicker.

Sure enough. Too big. I ground it down using the wheel and the rotary grinder. Took some time to get it so it just fit. Had to pound it in on the wood table.

shiftrod redo1

Then I drilled it for a couple rivets to hold it while I pound the other side on. Needed a little more grinding on the wheel to get the other side sized right (there’s still a big blob on the rod itself).

shiftrod redo2 Then, bang it home.shiftrod redo3 shiftrod redo4 shiftrod redo5I put another rivet in the other so it’s all aligned steady.

Now I need to braze it–or get Mike to braze it (unless he can weld it). At least now it doesn’t look like a moron did it. Does it?

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Improvements and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment