Fender (home) Stretch

For the past month or six weeks I’ve been chipping away at Bridget’s body work. Fill and sand, fill and sand. Today I got it good enough I figured I’d shoot some primer.

IMG_8174

That there is some old school spot putty I had on hand. I don’t even remember when I bought it. Years ago, I think. Anyway it was drying out and hard to even squeeze out of the tube, but eventually I busted open the bottom, and the glop that came out then was a bit more workable.

IMG_8175

I feather-edged it, dry-blocked it with a nifty sanding sponge and then hit it with the rattle can primer.

IMG_8183.JPG IMG_8182.JPG

I bought another tube of spot, thinking I’d have to go over it again. But when I dry-blocked it again to feather out the tape lines, it looked good enough for paint. So what the hell? They say to use a glossy coat to get your imperfections to show up, and I figured it was about time.

IMG_8186.JPG

It’s really a sacrificial coat. Once it dried I took a look, and it did indeed shrink into myriad little imperfections. IMG_8187.JPGBut hey that’s not even bad!

Next I’ll hit it wet with the 320 and 400, and do the same on the other three fenders (which are not yet color-coated). The other three will get another shot of primer, a quick block with 400 and then the top coat. This one I think I’ll just spray on top of the red.

Then clear and we’re done.

 

About stuntmidget

I'm a poor mechanic and general wisenheimer. I love old cars and the stories behind them, true or not.
This entry was posted in Fixes, Improvements and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fender (home) Stretch

  1. Impressive work, Ed. Very nice.👍

Leave a comment